• 3 people on a kayak tour in a beautiful creek
  • Mother and 2 little girls smiling, standing at the bow of the boat

Reviews / Testimonials

Winners of the NSW Tourism Awards for Ecotourism in 2016 and 2017. Overall rating is Excellent with honest passenger feedback. Try us and see what you think!

Trip Advisor Reviews: write a review

(Reviewed 1st Feb 2018 ) Excellent

"Brunswick Heads Sunset Rainforest Eco-Cruise"

Loved Simon's personality. Authentic, great aussie bloke. Made all of us feel totally relaxed and he was really informative about the river, trees, birds and surrounds. Our family loved it. Well worth the money.

(Reviewed 1st Feb 2018 ) Excellent

"very relaxing"

ah what a lovely way to see the birds and river and learn a little local history, well worth the small cost.

(Reviewed 25th Jan 2018 ) Excellent

"Brunswick Heads Sunset Rainforest Eco-Cruise"

I struggled to find an appropriate cruise to take my mother on for her birthday! A good friend recommended this company and I was a little apprehensive because they didn’t seem as upmarket as some of the other companies. I was totally surprised and my expectations completely surpassed when we undertook the wonderful sunset cruise. My mother completely enjoyed the experience and they totally catered for her needs. The staff – Simon and Rob – were so well educated and entertaining without domineering the experience. I cannot recommend this company highly enough!

(Reviewed 6th Jan 2018 ) Excellent

"Recommended for locals Á tourists alike!"

What a lovely experience this was! Only 6 of us on board the day we went. We are locals but hadn't been out on this trip before. Gavin was the skipper & he made the cruise interesting, informative & fun! It's a small boat with a covered top & open sides with plenty of space to see out at the natural bush & different birds we passed. Some interesting history of the area as well which we didn't know before our trip. Along with some nice red wine & a few nibbles, this was a lovely way to spend a late avo/early evening. Highly recommended!

(Reviewed 28th Dec 2017 ) Excellent

"Superb 'must-do'"

This was a surprise trip from my parents. I grew up in the area but had never heard of this tour. Wow, what a knock-out morning. Small boat with about 12 maximum people. The hosts are highly qualified on nature and wildlife and know these waters well. We had a two hour cruise up the river towards Mullumbimby with non stop commentary. About half way, we had a fabulous morning tea with tasty home made sweets together with tea and coffee. We were surprised by how much wildlife there is in these waters and how close we were. Highly recommended for all age groups and top photo opportunities.

(Reviewed 26th Dec 2017 ) Excellent

"Lovely afternoon"

We did the sunset river cruise with Gavin and Rob at the helm. Lovely guys and a really pleasant evening. Couldn’t have done enough for us. The wildlife seemed to appear almost on cue and we had fun spotting a few things on our own. Quality wine and refreshments served up to a chorus of knowledge about the river and its surrounds. Highly recommended! Even our teenagers stayed off their phones for the duration!

(Reviewed 2nd Dec 2017 ) Excellent

"Amazing Tour"

My boyfriend and I went with his parents for a sunset cruise on our last night of our holiday. Both tour guides on our cruise were funny, accomodating, informative and made our last night watching the sunset on the water a night to remember always. If we are ever in Brunswick Heads again we will definitely be back for another cruise!

(Reviewed 16th Nov 2017 ) Excellent

"Amazing Tour"

I have been on this cruise many times and taken friends from all over the world who have all had an incredible time. The commentary is excellent, really friendly family business, local food for the morning cruise and wine and nibbles for sunset cruise. Always guaranteed a great time.

(Reviewed 14th Nov 2017 ) Excellent

"Brunswick River Cruise"

We went on the cruise yesterday evening on the beautiful Brunswick river. Simon, who lead the tour, was very knowledgeable and knew the beat spots on the river to spot wildlife. We saw stingray and 2 magnificent eagles. The hospitality on the cruise was fantastic with wine and nibbles. Such a relaxing evening. Thank you.

(Reviewed 30th Oct 2017 ) Excellent

"Exploring the Brunswick River with Experts"

Simon and Gavin of Byron Bay Echo Cruises know the Brunswick River and are experts in sharing their knowledge of the river and its history as well as the flora and bird life that abounds. Their boat is purpose built to navigate all areas of the river and and also for the comfort of passengers which makes for a great cruise. We did the sunset cruise and our visitors to the area nominated it as one of the highlights of their stay as they learnt so much about the environment in a relaxing cruise on the water while being entertained by two friendly locals. Generous servings of wine and beer as well as delicious nibbles were served as we watched the kingfishers and ospreys observe us from their perches. Thank you for a wonderful experience that highlighted the beauty of the Northern Rivers.

Posted on our facebook site: write a review

4th Feb 2018 - Excellent

- Christos Taylor - This was truly a privilege to see the river this way, have to come back and would like to say thank you to the guys that took us out, a couple of legends, keep up the good work...

21st Jan 2018 - Excellent

- Donna Flanagan - We thoroughly enjoyed our sunset river tour! Simon's knowledge and love of the Brunswick river was so inspiring. Thank you for sharing this beautiful river with us. We loved every minute.

6th Jan 2018 - Excellent

- Sally Asker - Brilliant private river cruise charter for a 3rd birthday for 3 toddlers and 8 adults. Simon & Gavin pitched their eco knowledge and fun perfectly to the excited toddlers through to the grandparents! We spotted a variety of birds, a mystery dolphin, held tiny mud crabs, enjoyed lots of scenic river and bushland and generally had a great time. Many thanks - highly recommend the cruise for all types of individuals and groups �

3rd Jan 2018 - Excellent

- Holly Schantz - Absolutely wonderful. Booked the night before with no issues. Professional and knowledgeable. Highly recommend and would absolutely book again. The perfect way to start off our morning. Thank you so much.

29th Dec 2017 - Excellent

- Revathi Sindhu Sriram - Wonderful and Memorable cruise trip. We saw pelicans, brahminy kites and a lot more in the mangroves forest. Thank you Simon & Rob.

20th Oct 2017 - Excellent

- Cate Kearney - Fantastic sunset tour. Simon and Rob are incredibly knowledgeable about the bird and marine life and great guides

11th Oct 2017 - Excellent

- Shelly Rather Notsay - A very delightful way to spend some time any time of the day. I loved it. Simon is very knowledgeable and well versed to provide a good run down on bird species as well as the landscapes and habitats alike. Lorraine was very helpful in assisting with the booking process, very easy. (The Hommus was very tasty, as was the olives and cheese, as well as everything else) thank you Lorraine

6th Oct 2017 - Excellent

- Sophie Paterson - Highly recommend. Great friendly and knowledgeable guides. Lots of family fun (Eco Kayak Cruise and SUP)

21st Sep 2017 - Excellent

- Sandra Wonderful Smith - We loved it! Simon and Gavin were so patient with the children- 4 and 6 years old. They had so much knowledge to share. Thanks for a great experience.

20th Sep 2017 - Excellent

- Jamie Halliday - I booked this river cruise for my girlfriends birthday weekend in Byron Bay. From the get go Lorraine was very helpful and accomodating with the booking process. We booked a private river cruise, kayaking and stand up paddle boarding! We all had an amazing time on the river. What really made this experience was Simon and Robs knowledge of the local area and general likability, just two top blokes from start to finish. Would highly recommend!!!