• 3 people on a kayak tour in a beautiful creek
  • Mother and 2 little girls smiling, standing at the bow of the boat

Reviews / Testimonials

Trip Advisor Reviews: write a review

(Reviewed 6th May 2017 ) Excellent

"Helen & Gareth Edmond"

Great interactive talks with things to see and touch like stingray barbs. Simon and Rob were both very informative and entertaining. Well worth it

(Reviewed 30th April 2017 ) Excellent

"Professional & knowledgeable owners"

We went on the afternoon sunset cruise along the river, it was a great experience. The husband and wife team are very knowledgeable about the area and the wildlife they are great conservationists and are very respectful about the waterways and its wildlife. We were given good binoculars and were able to see the local birds and wildlife first hand, it helps that they know all the names and can spot them from a great distance. The boat is not too big so it makes for a comfortable and intimate group. We went over the allocated time as it was such a enjoyable trip and they want you to enjoy the marvelous area. The wine and nibbles are a added bonus and appreciated especially the home made hummus, it was yum! I would strongly recommend you do one of their boat trips as it's a great way to explore the river and all the wildlife and they are very professional and knowledgeable.

(Reviewed 16th April 2017 ) Very good

"My Byron Getaway"

So if your ever in Byron Bay and looking for something to do and not just the same old thing. Can i suggest Byron Bay Eco Cruises and Kayak Tours.Linda and Gavin are two really nice people, And Gavin knowledge of the River and Bird life was amazing. It was a great way to spend a couple of hours up the river. You get to see some amazing scenery and bird life and hello nibbles and a beer or wine awesome. And you get some amazing photos. And the price 50.00 and i here the morning tour is also amazing. As for Linda she even picked me up from my accomodation for only 10.00 and gave me a locals tour. So fellow tourists if in Byron i suggest this as a to do and a great way to meet people. And let me say i was impressed as the weather was raining they will not just go they will refund your money if the weather is crap and cant go ahead. So thank you. And here is a nice touch you even get a picture of the animals you seen to keep nice one guys.

(Reviewed 11th March 2017 ) Excellent

"River Cruise: A perfect way to end the day"

Visiting Brunswick Heads for the day and everyone I spoke to raved about these morning and sunset Rainforest river cruises. I choose the Sunset Cruise, which included a selection of wines/beer/juices plus a cheese platter filled with goodies. The cruise sets off at that golden time of the afternoon: the sun is low, the river is quiet, day is settling into the night, yet there's quite a bit of wildlife activity on the river. We saw pied cormorants, osprey, lorikeets and even a cheeky Kingfisher, while in the river was a stingray, schools of small fish and lots of bigger fish to see. Sadly, no turtles were seen. Simon was the laid-back captain, guide and waiter all rolled into one. His knowledge of the town, local history and eco-system was impressive, while his enthusiasm for 'life on the river' was evident. I had the best time and would definitely recommend it!

(Reviewed 2nd March 2017 ) Excellent

"Morning river cruise"

Everything was perfect. Gavin looked after us so well. The boat was very comfortable and well equipped. The cruise was relaxing stopping whenever we wished for photos. We saw sea eagles, snake necked cormorant, pelicans and loads more. The tea/coffee and cakes served halfway were excellent and, despite the forecast rain, the weather dry,sunny and pleasant. Would definitely do this cruise again. Very good value. Recommend to everyone.

(Reviewed 20th February 2017 ) Excellent

"A must do for locals & visitors"

As locals from Mullum, we have been wanting to do this cruise for years and jumped at the opportunity having family visit from Sydney. The Bruns river is so beautiful and the cruise very relaxing. Not long into the trip refreshments were served, beer, nice wine and nibbles. Gaven's commentary was informative of the history & birdlife and was fun. Even though we had storms threatening we took a chance anyway and were rewarded with a wonderful trip. Wonderful to see the outskirts of our home town from the Bruns river. We will defiantly do this again.

(Reviewed 19th February 2017 ) Excellent

"Great way to see another side of Byron"

Great fun! This was a Hens Weekend activity for our group and we all loved this.The river cruise was surprisingly informative with the guys having great knowledge of the local fauna and flora.The kayaking was a lovely way to see the river systems around Byron and even with varying fitness levels in our group everyone found this easy and relaxing.Lunch and a few wines on the trip home were also delicious. Would recommend!

(Reviewed 25th January 2017 ) Excellent

"Sunset cruise"

My friend and I went on the sunset river cruise. I am a bird enthusiast and was not disappointed. We saw 3 different varieties of eagles/osprey and a flock of rainbow bee-eaters. Simon and Rob were perfect hosts, both being very knowledgable on the wildlife and the local area. Simon's wife lovingly prepared some cheese and snacks and soft drink, beer and wine were also available. Even better was B.Y.O which allowed my picky friend to bring a strong bow! All in all a lovely way to spend an hour or two(even for my picky friend who normally gets seasick!)

(Reviewed 22nd December 2016 ) Excellent

"Great cruise, great hosts!"

Went on this tour with my entire family and we had the whole boat to ourselves. The hosts were extremely knowledgeable and friendly which made the tour that much better. We had a ton of fun and was great to see my dad get wobbly and fall off a paddle board.

(Reviewed 3rd November 2016 ) Excellent

"River Cruise"

We had been advised by friends to do a river cruise while we were staying in Brunswick Heads. So off we went. Beautiful morning. Easy walk to the harbour along the river sussing out who had the best camp. Greeted warmly by Simon. Off we went. No expectations really. An hour and a half later and we had learnt so much about the life of the river, the history, the environment & the area. Had enjoyed a brew of the local coffee & eaten the home made treats. Highly recommend it.

L (Reviewed 26th October 2016 ) Excellent

"Exceeded Expectations!"

What a totally awesome tourism experience combining beautiful sunset river cruise with knowledgable, personable and responsible operator. Fantastic hospitality, fantastic value. We thoroughly enjoyed our two hours with Simon especially sighting rare and elusive bird species, multiple opportunity to view large estuarine sting rays and other wildlife, combined with local history, stories and tourist tips. Added bonus was the offer of binoculars, warm blankets, and quality refreshments. This tour was a highlight of our trip.

Suzanne B Cambridgeshire UK (Reviewed 19th October 2016 ) Excellent

"Lovely relaxing cruise up the Brunswick River"

We booked by email and had prompt responses from this small company. The boat only accommodates 12 passengers, but today, we were the only 2 people on board! Simon gave an interesting commentary and helpful tips on our further travels in Australia. Our cruise was during the afternoon and there were wines, beers and soft drinks on offer along with delicious hummus made by Simon's wife, cheese, crackers, crudités etc. We saw Brahminy Kites, Sea Eagles and an Osprey. Thoroughly recommended!

Ruth0Galway (Reviewed 2nd October 2016 ) Excellent

"3 Irish and an Aussie"

Great trip with very enthusiastic and informative staff! Highly recommend! Not far from Byron , definitely worth the trip out to Brunswick heads!

07918MAstephan Melbourne (Reviewed 29th September 2016 ) Excellent

"Fascinating & Scenic"

We had a great afternoon on the Brunswick River. Not only was it fascinating and interesting but Simon Á Lorraine kept us entertained and intrigued with their wealth of knowledge on the ecology and bird life of the area. Interaction was greatly encouraged and we learnt so much. We had a delicious afternoon tea Á hot chocolate and the littlies were having a great time "driving" the boat with their Pirate and Captain hats on! Thanks you for your warm hospitality, we really appreciated it.

Posted on our facebook site: write a review

7th May 2017 - Excellent

- Sonia Surija - Fantastic time this morning cruising the Brunswick River with our guide Simon learnt a lot with his knowledge of nature & bird life, also thanks for our morning refreshments especially the scrumptious chocolate macadamia brownies. I highly recommend visitors go on this adventure when next they're in this region.

3rd May 2017 - Excellent

- Helen Edmond - Sunset cruise was amazing friendly entertaining and very knowledgeable guides. All senses were awakened ... see smell touch hear and even taste. Great arvo Thank you Simon and Rob

13th April 2017 - Excellent

- Andrew Cormack - Brilliant trip down the river with two excellent, friendly and knowledgeable guides! Simon and Gavin, you do this so well with such knowledge and passion in such a friendly manner. Thoroughly enjoyed it as did my wife and two teenage girls! Even better they got chance to navigate the boat through the waters! Thanks again!Andy

28th January 2017 - Excellent

- Michael Juttner - Seriously the best bird watching cruise I have done in Australia. Kingfishers, osprey, white bellied sea eagles. Beautiful river, awesome cruise.

10th January 2017 - Excellent

- Heather Foster - Big hugs :)) to the team at Byron bay Eco tours. Right from booking the tour through to the trip we felt the everyone was warm and genuine We had a fabulous morning bird watching , kayaking and stand up paddle boarding - was fantastic and informative We were more than impressed with sooo much food they provided and so yummy Thank you for making " jans" birthday so memorable and thanks for your professionalism and patience teaching us water sports We all highly recommend this tour to adults and children and I guarantee you will have a great time and they also supply lots of pics for your Facebook page!

30th December 2016 - Excellent

- Karen Davis - Took my visiting parents out on the sunset cruise and it was absolutely fantastic. We all thoroughly enjoyed it - from the beautiful scenery, the comfy spacious boat, our guides, the food and the wine! we just sat back and soaked up the atmosphere. It was the perfect way to enjoy the beauty of the area and learn a little at the same time. I would love to do this cruise time and time again with visitors or just as a fun family activity. Highly recommend - well done on such a great cruise.

15th October 2016 - Excellent

- Joanna Schmitt - Did this trip in 2104. It was amazing. Came back again yesterday with the rest of the family. Still as amazing .... and instructive, thanks to Gavin's knowledge and commentry. Saw an incredible amount of wildlife but the Sacred Kingfishers were particularly delightful. Last but not least .... great cakes!!! Thanks to the Eco Cruises lovely team!

6th September 2016 - Excellent

- Sonia Surija - Fantastic time this morning cruising the Brunswick River with our guide Simon learnt a lot with his knowledge of nature & bird life, also thanks for our morning refreshments especially the scrumptious chocolate macadamia brownies. I highly recommend visitors go on this adventure when next they're in this region.

26th June 2016 - Excellent

- Reuben Otero - The best guided tour I've ever experienced. I'm in Australia visiting from the U.S. Simon and Wendy made my excursion day fantastic. So friendly and fun! An unforgettable experience. Special thanks to Dreamtrips and Eco Crusies.

20th June 2016 - Excellent

- Frank Bak - You guys are amazing, I learnt so much from both of you guys. Thank you for an amazing cruise and for giving me the opportunity to see so many azure kingfishers never realised how small they are